Sprachwechsel zur englischen Seite Eduserver Gebärdensprache DGS-Button Leichte Sprache LS-Button
advanced search


Education in the BRICS States

Update: 10th BRICS summit 2018 in South Africa, 25 to 27 July 2018
BRICS letters in the colours of the BRICS states' national flags
BRICS letters in the colours of the BRICS states' national flags: Brazil, Russia, India, China, and South Africa.
Generally speaking, the term "BRICS" refers to Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa. The abbreviation was coined in economics and first appeared in a paper presented by Goldman Sachs in 2001. Initially, the term "BRIC" (at the beginning without South Africa) was used to characterize "emerging markets" - triggering the economists' interest. Respective countries themselves began to co-operate as "BRIC" states in 2006 when their foreign secretaries met for the first time. Since 2009, annual BRICS Summits have been held by the respective heads of state; South Africa has participated in the Summits since 2011.
What began as an economic label has now transformed into a collaboration of the states. Besides discussing economic issues, political and cultural collaboration are now being targeted.
By presenting a web dossier, Education Worldwide places its focus on education and the collaborative efforts of the BRICS countries in this field. Furthermore, light is shed on the German engagement in and cooperation with the BRICS states, particularly concerning education.
The following dossiers provide information on the respective BRICS countries:

Education in Brazil

Education in Russia

Education in India

Education in China

Education in South Africa

BRICS Cooperations

Last Update: 15.08.2018  -

Inhalt auf sozialen Plattformen teilen (nur vorhanden, wenn Javascript eingeschaltet ist)