

March 27, 2007

50th Anniversary: From the Treaties of Rome to the European Union An Online Dossier by the German Education Server (Eduserver)

Frankfurt/M. On March 25, 1957 six states signed the Treaty of Rome in order to found the European Economic Community (EEC), a follow-up to the European Coal and Steel Cooperation (ECSC, 1951). In the years to follow, new members joined the EEC in six stages and the EU, its successor, numbers 27 member states as of January 2007. Apart from an expansion in terms of admitting new members, the Community has also transformed from a system of economic cooperation into a comprehensive system of shared policies and legislation. Since the Maastricht Treaty of 1993, the mobility of the labour force is as important as the creation of an European Education Area, and the European Research Area. The German Education Server provides an English language dossier for international users on the occasion of Europe's 50th anniversary: www.bildungsserver.de/zeigen_e.html?seite=5099

The resources collected in the international Dossier <u>Europe</u>: 50th anniversary – from the <u>Treaties of Rome to the European Union</u> offer information and links to official portals that provide an insight into the historical development of the EU, a collation on the <u>Treaties of Rome</u> as well as a special site dedicated to the <u>German EU Council Presidency</u>. The information module is completed by <u>EU websites for young people</u>.

Information and Contact

Dr. Gwen Schulte, German Education Server/ Deutscher Bildungsserver, Tel. +49 (0) 69.24708-303, E-Mail schulte@dipf.de

Public Relations, Information Center Education, Christine Schumann, Tel. +49 (0) 69.24708-314; E-Mail: schumann@dipf.de, www.dipf.de/bildungsinformation_e.htm

The German Education Server is a joint service by the federal government and the states. It is located at the German Institute for International Educational Research in Frankfurt on the Main and Berlin (DIPF), member of the Leibniz Association.

The DIPF institute is one of 84 non-university research institutes belonging to the Leibniz-Gemeinschaft. The scope of the Leibniz institutions is broad, it reaches from natural sciences to engineering, environment and economical and social sciences to space and philosophical sciences, including museums with their own research departments. The institutes are demand-oriented and interdisciplinary. They are of national importance, hence their projects are of federal interest and they are jointly financed by the federal and state governments. For more information, see www.wgl.de/extern/englisch/index.html